RACE TODAY

Relay race running for Old Scotch Aths club. Everyone runs two legs. I was third runner. I started about 40m behind a young women whom I thought I could catch despite her being 40 years younger and about 15 Kilos lighter. Unfortunately this was not the case. Did not feel good after the first Km and struggled on.

Everyone runs twice.However if a certain period of time has elapsed you have what is called a mass start. Meaning the 20 or so runners who have not yet run all start together.This was me.

I was still feeling ill so I thought to take it easy. But a couple of my club mates were ahead of me after a Km. I don’t have many tactics but one I use is to sprint past my opponent for about 50m and hope they drop off. After getting rid of my team mates I ran down a young women ( again about 25 years my junior). I then ran down some big powerful guy ( also about 20 years younger) but he out kicked me at the end….still he made it interesting.I did surge past him and got about 5m clear but maybe I just lacked the will power to put him away.

Overall my lack of any sort of speed was my undoing. I probably finished 2nd in my age group but who cares. Certainly have a long way to go.

 

2 thoughts on “RACE TODAY

  1. I like your tactics. I must try and use them myself.

  2. Love that competitive spirit!

Leave a Reply

