Pretty Hard Long Run

This morning I did my first Long Run. It did not go particularly well although I managed to run 35 Km ( that’s a bit less than 22 miles) at a reasonable overall pace.

It was not raining when I started butImage it was fairly cold. 8 degrees but felt like 3 with the wind factor taken into account. Probably this is quite a good temperature to run a marathon but it still felt cold.

My plan was to run the first 14 Km by myself and then meet Mi Chan who would run the next 21 Km with me. I stopped and had a gel and some water when I met her.

I ran reasonably well for a while and had another gel at 24km. It started to rain reasonably hard but that did not last so that was a plus.

Unfortunately I started to feel tired and a bit hungry at 29 Km and stopped for another gel.

By 30 Km I was struggling and seemed to run out of energy. I lacked the will power to keep going and again stopped at 32km ( 20 miles) for some water. The last 3 Km were a real struggle. Mi chan helped me a lot by jogging next to me chanting one/two, one /two over and over !!!

Felt miserable when I finished. I have a very long way to go and I wonder after today’s poor effort if I can really run a marathon.

Weight 64.1.  (141 pounds). Thats my weight when I was at school!

 

8 thoughts on “Pretty Hard Long Run

  1. Well done! Weather can suck the life out for you. I have been researching the ‘wall’ -which is what I think you hit. From what I understand, it is a lack of fuel that will cause it, elite runners recommend increasing your caloric intake, so a gel pack every hour- not when you feel you need it because then it’s too late and you crash. Play around with different combinations, now is the time before marathon day! You will be able to finish. Race day is amazing. Just keep fuelling, hydrating and don’t forget electrolights, you still need them even when it’s cold. Best of luck!

  2. 22 miles is great. I’m sure 4 more will be easy on race day!!! Today is a new day. Congrats on the mileage.

  3. Well done! Remember, runners are made in the winter.

  4. You did it! Don’t be disappointed…and four more miles will be easy (well, you know what I mean.) Sounds a bit low on the fuel/hydration side to me…but that’s just my two cents.

  5. Wow, this is great! I’m still just trying to run for 30 minutes! Winter will be over soon for you (unfortunately for me, as we’ll be going into it!). P.S. Did you ever read the book The Coolest Race on Earth: Mud, Madmen, Glaciers, and Grannies at the Antarctica Marathon by John Hanc? That’s next on my reading list! Remember, no run is a wasted run!

  6. I’m always thankful for the bad run days … they make me appreciate the good run days that much more. 🙂 Hang in there!!

  7. Great. You made it and that is what counts. If it was not hard, you would not feel half as good about yourself.

Leave a Reply

