5 weeks until the Marathon

Image

Only 5 weeks until I attempt my first Melbourne Marathon in 23 years. Can I do it? Unsure. Have I trained enough? Again I do not know. I have run 30 Kms a few times but that was far from easy. I ran 35 but only once and that resulted in me limping home over the last 5 Kms at 6 minutes per Km pace.

Because I am so slow I will be out on the road for a great deal of time. This is also my fear. That I will just give up after running for 3 hours.

Yesterday I ran a half marathon with Tamami in 1-45 and was pleased to find that very easy. But that’s 21.1 Km….a Marathon is twice that!!! And really by the time I got to the 20 Km mark yesterday I was pretty bored just jogging along and wanted the thing to just finish. I did find that each time we passed someone I slowed to their pace and had a chat…that made it a bit easier. But that’s a half…a REAL marathon will be a lot harder.

Today consisted of a short jog and 30 minutes on the Eliptical Machine at the gym. ( This is another thing I find boring). 

100 push ups today and 200 stomach crunches.

Tomorrow I plan to try the Lactic Run and on Wednesday I will try a medium long run.

I think I am moving into Panic Mode.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “5 weeks until the Marathon

  1. Good luck and train hard 🙂

  2. Been there, done that. If I can run a marathon, so can you. You are much better prepared than I was and it is amazing what you can pull out in the last weeks before your taper. Keep going. I can’t wait to see your recap!!!

  3. Hang in there man!

Leave a Reply

